What size of tyres on the era

Any Technical Queries? This is the place to ask/give advice.
User avatar
Jezza
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:21 pm
Location: Stoneleigh, Warks

Re: What size of tyres on the era

Post by Jezza » Wed Sep 26, 2012 8:09 am

I have taken the plunge and put some Falken 175x60x13 tyres onto my ERA as the MOT date is looming.

Not driven it too far yet so a bit early to judge how well they perform - cost was £280 fitted etc for 4 tyres (from stock at Southam Tyres in Warwickshire).
Jeremy Harris

G543 TFK

R1041 BRG

an old original
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:13 pm

Re: What size of tyres on the era

Post by an old original » Wed Sep 26, 2012 4:00 pm

Until recently I was running 175/50's but switched to the Pirelli 165/55. They were only about a fiver more than the Yokos (£350).
Haven't noticed a great difference but I also did my cones & dampers so a direct comparison is probably not really possible, at least I don't shatter my spine when I hit a pot-hole now.

User avatar
prop
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:28 pm
Location: Leeds

Re: What size of tyres on the era

Post by prop » Sat Jul 20, 2013 9:02 am

I eventually opted for Yokohama A539 175/60 R13 77H asymmetric Tyres.
I checked the Speedo with my satnav and it was pretty accurate. At 30 mph the satnav read 28mph which corresponds with my other vehicles 30 mph = 27mph satnav, and is steady all the way up.
Having never driven on the originals I cannot compare but they seem to be good at the moment I will know better after it is run in and I can drive it to the limit.

paul
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:20 pm

Re: What size of tyres on the era

Post by paul » Sun Jul 21, 2013 10:49 pm

I would buy what is selling at the moment, I put 175 50 13 yoko 539's on Keiths when I had it, probably fitted them about a a couple of years after it came over, so summer 2006 these came from one of the biggest alloy wheel sellers in the UK, My Black one I fitted Falken 165 60 13 which i tracked down via black circles.

My black ERA's are now cracked massively everywhere, it has only done about 2000 miles on them still showing moulding nipples and coloured lines and coloured balancing blobs on sides, clearly these Falkens must have sat on a shelf somewhere for years before I bought them.

So when I replace mine shortly I will go for Yoko 539, I dont like the narrower profile but I think they will last longer than a set of old stock tyres which are about to go off..

Paul

an old original
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:13 pm

Re: What size of tyres on the era

Post by an old original » Mon Jul 22, 2013 6:59 pm

The 165/60 x 13 Falkens have generally been unavailable for about 6 or 7 years so I would think yours are at least that old. I used to run them when they were about, but even then they used to start cracking after only 6 months or so, but they were cheap!!

A little warning..... I do remember the last time ATS managed to find some for me. It was about 4 years ago and they found some at a garage in Wales but they were at least 3 years old then and so ATS said they would supply them but would not fit them.

User avatar
G96LUE
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 7:21 pm
Location: Walsall

Re: What size of tyres on the era

Post by G96LUE » Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:02 pm

While mooching around on the net today (15/8/16) i decided to do another search on tyres i came across a company called Camskill who sell 2 tyre's the correct size.

They are unknown brand (to me anyway), one is Ovation VI682 at £38 ea speed rated to 118mph, the other are Achilles 122 at £37.50 ea and rated to 130mph.

I'm not sure how good they will be but unless you are lucky enough to have some old stock saved up this might be your only option.

an old original
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:13 pm

Re: What size of tyres on the era

Post by an old original » Wed Aug 24, 2016 9:45 am

I recently put on some 165/55 Black Circles "Quality" tyres at £38 each. Seem to be okay but my main fear is that with a lot of tyres now being made in China is the quality of rubber used, on a level with that used in other components? 'cause I think we all know what that's like...

Post Reply